I’m still alive, I think

Howdy folks.

It’s uh….been a while.

Not that you have anything to do with that. The cobwebs that have gradually descended on this blog are my fault, and nothing less. The last two months or so have been some of the “throw your life upside down” type, with a hearty few “let’s learn some things about yourself and what you want in life,” weeks thrown in for good measure.

In the midst of all of this external and internal ruckus, I have had little energy to do much but either sleep or mope. I was going to do a series of Star Wars reviews, but Carrie Fisher’s recent passing has made that idea a little harder. I saw Rogue One a few days after she died, and to say I was a hot mess in the theater would be an understatement. I will get a Rogue One review out (in addition to a Force Awakens review) soon, but I’m still gathering my thoughts about it.

While I’ll save it for another post, my relationship with the Star Wars series is deep. The first movie I ever remember consciously watching was Return of the Jedi, and growing up during the prequels meant dressing up like Queen Amidala- but then grabbing as much Sith merch as I could in my rebellious 5th grade year. The Force Awakens made me fall in love with Star Wars again as an adult, and reminded me why this universe is so important.Then Rogue One made the Star Wars story more relevant than ever.

And then we lost the General.Losing the beacon of wit and wonder that was Carrie Fisher hurt a lot more than I thought it would, and then that was followed by the death of Debbie Reynolds, her mother.

It’s been a rough few weeks, and 2016 made damn sure to try and cement itself as The Hell Year in its last few days. I’m not going to get into the political and social reasons 2016 was The Worst (C), and in the grand scheme of things Fisher’s passing means very little. But to a lot of folks, Carrie meant a lot. She was an outspoken woman who dealt with her mental illness in an open, accessible way. She was unapologetic about her age, her history, her looks- and was not afraid to call bullshit. Princess Leia may have been a pop culture icon, but Carrie Fisher provided a lot of very real hope to a lot of people, myself included.

At any rate, this a really lengthy, roundabout way of saying that I’m getting back on the horse with a new series of reviews, all centered around starting 2017 off on the right foot. The next few days, I’m going to post some reviews of my favorite feel-good movies, so we can get this next trip round the sun started properly. Nothing but happy tears for the next few days, friends. The work that is 2017 waits, but I think we all deserve a moment or two to recover from 2016. If you’re game, hang out with me tomorrow for the first installment of I’m Gonna Wash That Year Right Out of My Hair! It’s a fun throwback with a bangin’ soundtrack and an amazing cast.

Until then, folks!

 

 

Leave a Reply

