31 Days of Halloween

It’s the most wonderful time of the year

It’s October 1st, and Halloween season has begun! Crack out your pumpkins and reapers and skulls, because these are truly the greatest 31 days of the year. I’m a fan of all things spooky, so October makes my weird little heart sing.

In honor of the best holiday in existence, I’ve decided to compile a list of my 31 favorite scary movies, and review one a day. It’s a ballsy move on the part of my lazy ass, but we’ll see how it goes. I’m aiming high, so let’s see where I land.

‘Tis the Reason for the Season

I’ve got a vague organizational scheme for this bonanza. Each series of reviews is divvied up  by genre: Zombies, Vampires, Foreign, Shaky-Cam, and so on. Of course, a lot of these movies straddle several genres, so my groupings are more for organizational purposes than anything else. And of course, these are just my takes on these films. So take my recommendations with a grain of salt and a sense of humor: hopefully you add a movie or two to your watchlist!

The first set of reviews on the docket is a jumbled bunch of movies: the weird collection of movies that  gave me my first taste for the scary. First up is a seasonal classic that only gets better with age, just like Bette Midler: Hocus Pocus.

It’s time to light the Black Flame Candle, folks.

 

____

Featured image source: http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/evil/images/6/64/The_Black_Flame_Candle.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20150418221956

 

Leave a Reply

